COCAÏNE ET CRACK

La cocaïne et le crack peuvent être ingérés, pris par le nez (sniffés), injectés par intraveineuse, ou, dans le cas du crack, la fumée peut être inhalée une fois le produit chauffé.

Les termes utilisés pour décrire l’ingestion sont : mâcher, sniffer, se shooter, injecter et fumer.

Le mot cocaïne se réfère à la drogue en poudre (cocaïne) et à la drogue sous forme de cristaux (crack). Elle est fabriquée à partir de la plante de coca et, après la méthamphétamine,1 c’est la drogue qui crée la plus grande dépendance psychologique de toutes.

Effets à court terme :

La cocaïne fait « décoller » de façon éphémère et intense, sensation suivie immédiatement par un sentiment opposé de dépression et d’irritation et un besoin maladif de drogue. Les consommateurs réguliers mangent et dorment mal. Cette drogue peut générer une forte accélération du rythme cardiaque, des spasmes musculaires et des convulsions. Les drogues peuvent rendre les gens paranoïaques, irritables, hostiles et anxieux, même à faible dose.

Effets à long terme :

En plus de ce qui précède, la cocaïne peut provoquer de l’irritabilité, des sautes d’humeur, de l’agitation, de la paranoïa et des hallucinations auditives. La personne développe une accoutumance à la drogue et doit en prendre toujours plus pour produire le même effet.

La « descente » provoque une dépression si grave que les cocaïnomanes seront prêts à faire n’importe quoi, y compris tuer, pour se procurer leur dose. S’ils ne l’obtiennent pas, la dépression risque de devenir si intense qu’elle peut les conduire au suicide.

  1. 1. méthamphétamine : stimulant du système nerveux central créant une forte dépendance.

NOMS COURANTS


CRACK 24-7 Apple jacks Bad rock Ball Base Beat Candy Chemical Cloud Coco Crack Crumbs Crunch and munch Devil drug Dope Electric kool-aid Fat bags French fries Glo Blanche Grit Hail Hard ball Hard rock Hot cakes Ice cube Jelly beans Kryptonite Nuggets Paste Piece Prime time Product Raw Rock(s) Rock star Rox/Roxanne Scrabble Sleet Rail Sugar block Topo (Espagnol) Tornado Troop

NOMS COURANTS


COCAÏNE Coco Base Bigornette Blanche neige C Charlie Coke Dust Corinne Henry VIII Ligne Neige Reniflette Respirette Rocks Toot Scorpion

COCAINE & CRACK COCAINE

Cocaine and crack cocaine can be taken orally, through the nose (snorted), injected with a syringe or, in the case of crack, through inhalation of the fumes from heating it.

The terms used to describe ingestion include chewing, snorting, mainlining (injecting into a large vein) and smoking.

The word cocaine refers to the drug in a powder form (cocaine) and a crystal form (crack). It is made from the coca plant and, next to methamphetamine,1 creates the greatest psychological dependence of any drug.

Short-term Effects:

Cocaine causes a short-lived intense high that is immediately followed by the opposite—intense feelings of depression and edginess and a craving for more of the drug. People who use it often don’t eat or sleep properly. They can experience greatly increased heart rate, muscle spasms and convulsions. The drug can make people feel paranoid, angry, hostile and anxious, even when they aren’t high.

Long-term Effects:

In addition to those effects already mentioned, cocaine can cause irritability, mood disturbances, restlessness, paranoia and auditory (hearing) hallucinations. Tolerance to the drug develops so that more is needed to produce the same “high.”

Coming down from the drug causes severe depression, which becomes deeper and deeper after each use. This can get so severe that a person will do almost anything to get the drug—even commit murder. And if he or she can’t get cocaine, the depression can get so intense it can drive the addict to suicide.

  1. 1. methamphetamine: a highly addictive central nervous system stimulant.

STREET NAMES

CRACK COCAINE

24-7

Apple jacks

Badrock

Ball

Base

Beat

Candy

Chemical

Cloud

Cookies

Crack

Crumbs

Crunch & munch

Devil drug

Dice

Electric kool-aid

Fat bags

French fries

Glo

Gravel

Grit

Hail

Hard ball

Hard rock

Hotcakes

Ice cube

Jelly beans

Kryptonite

Nuggets

Paste

Piece

Prime time

Product

Raw

Rock(s)

Rock star

Rox/Roxanne

Scrabble

Sleet

Snow coke

Sugar block

Topo (Spanish)

Tornado

Troop

 


STREET NAMES

COCAINE

Aunt Nora

Bernice

Binge

Blow

C

Charlie

Coke

Dust

Flake

Mojo

Nose candy

Paradise

Sneeze

Sniff

Snow

Toot

White